Getting Better – The Fight for the NHS

Springboard Pictures proudly presents Getting Better – The Fight for the NHS (an Audible Original) starring Rhod Gilbert as Nye Bevan along with Kathryn Drysdale, Neve McIntosh, Rob James-Collier, Mark Gatiss and many more (full cast list below). LISTEN NOW ON AUDIBLE

This ten-part drama tells the story of Aneurin (Nye) Bevan as he is charged with creating the world’s first national health service. At home, his marriage is as fiery as the centre-stage politics.

Meanwhile, we meet the front-line medical staff and patients whose lives (and limbs) are at stake.

Photo of cast studio recordings for 'Getting Better' including Rob James-Collier, Rhod Gilbert, Mark Gatis & Kathryn Drysdale

Full cast


Rhod Gilbert as Nye Bevan
Kathryn Drysdale as Dr Eva Callaway
Neve McIntosh as Jennie Lee
Rob James-Collier as Dr Reggie Hughes


Gary Andrews as Matthew Tetlow
Ayesha Antoine as Nurse Vi
Mina Anwar as Ruth Vilner
Delroy Atkinson as Teddy Laburn
Annette Badland as Mrs Tetlow
Maggie Bain as Ivy Keogh
Colin Baker as Dr Charles Hill
Steve Banks as Jim
Sharon D. Clarke as Letty Laburn
Julie-Ann Dean as Rose Tetlow
Barnaby Eaton-Jones as George Godber
Nigel Fairs as Herbert Morrison
Jason Forbes as Mr Harvey
Mark Gatiss as Mr Cain
Raj Ghatak as Lord Moran
David Hounslow as Robert Gardner
Ainsley Howard as Nurse Flo Wallis
Gerran Howell as Young Bevan
Andrew James as Spooner Terry
Louise Jameson as Matron Unsworth
Paterson Joseph as King George VI
Darrell Maclaine as Jack Keogh
Clive Mantle as Sir Wilson Jameson
Katy Maw as Nurse Minnie
Dominic McChesney as Nigel Banks
Terry Molloy as Lord Horder
Ben Perkins as Trevelyan
Philip Pope as Chuter Ede
Tanya Rich as Rita Higson
Dan Starkey as Dr Hamilton
Wink Taylor as Winston Churchill
Mike Wozniak as Clement Attlee

Also featuring

Paul Birch as Young Soldier
Lloyd Davies as Miner
Tim Duthrane as Miner
Kenton Hall as Miner
Sian Harries as Mrs Morgan
Kim Jones as Sex Worker
Zehra Jane Naqvi – Additional voices
Penelope Rawlins as Nurse Mitchell
Bex Reichwald Pizzata – Press & Crowd Scenes
Lucy Scott-Smith as Miss Forshaw

Production Credits

An Audible Original produced by Springboard Pictures in Association with Spiteful Puppet

Written by Paul Birch and Kenton Hall with Mark Hayhurst
Based on a story by Ian Haig

Produced by Ian Haig with Barnaby Eaton-Jones

Directed by Ian Haig, Louise Jameson and Barnaby Eaton-Jones

Post Production was provided by YXO Studios
Edited by Hayley Allen
Mixed by Olga Reed and Martyn Harries
Medical Historian Doctor Carole Reeves
Story Development by Pam Fraser Solomon
Original music by Alexander White
Theme tune by Ian Haig and arranged by Alexander White
Original Songs for Letty Laburn by Andrew Farrington and Andy Rushton
Lyrics by Kenton Hall
Additional music by Audio Network
Script editing by Ian Haig and Barnaby Eaton-Jones
Original Development by Chris Grezo, Rupert Knowles
Audio Recording by Gerry O’Riordan, Rohan Onraet, Mark Oliver, Wilfredo Acosta, and Joseph Fox at Soundhouse Studios and Riverside FM
Production Managers Ian Haig and Barnaby Eaton-Jones
Production Coordinator Bex Reichwald Pizzata
Executive Producers were Harshad Mistry and Robert Norris for Springboard Pictures and Gary Haberfield, Andrew Swaisland and Jack Bowman for Spiteful Puppet
Thank you to Barry O’Donovan, Pam Fraser Solomon, Freddy Sledge, Professor Richard Schilling, Sir Marcus Setchell, Alison Knapp, Dr Robert Treharne Jones and Charlotte Jakab-Hall
For Audible, the Executive Producer was Mariele Runacre-Temple
The Script Executive was Matthew Campbell
And the Commissioning Editor was Lydia Shamah

And finally, a limitless thank you to everyone who does or has worked and volunteered for the NHS. You are all incredible.

Remember, “The NHS will last as long as there are folk with faith left to fight for it.”


Follow us